Nature Research Center

Coordinators & Directors

Coordinators

Bob Alderink
Coordinator of the Natural World Investigate Lab
919.707.9297
bob.alderink@naturalsciences.org

Colin A. Brammer, PhD
Coordinator of the Natural World Investigate Lab
919.707.9293
colin.brammer@naturalsciences.org

Debra A. Bailey
Co-coordinator of the Micro World Investigate Lab
919.707.9295
debra.bailey@naturalsciences.org

Matthew Faerber
Coordinator of the Visual World Investigate Lab
919.707.9292
matthew.faerber@naturalsciences.org

Christy Flint
Coordinator of the Micro World Investigate Lab
919.707.9294
christy.flint@naturalsciences.org

Walt Gurley
Co-coordinator of the Visual World Investigate Lab
919.707.9265 
walt.gurley@naturalsciences.org 

Tamara Poles
Coordinator of Distance Learning
919.707.9277
tamara.poles@naturalsciences.org

Directors

Julie Horvath, PhD
Director of Genomics & Microbiology
Research Laboratory
919.707.8242
julie.horvath@naturalsciences.org

Roland Kays, PhD
Director of Biodiversity and Earth Observation
Research Laboratory
919.707.8250
roland.kays@naturalsciences.org

Rachel L. Smith, PhD
Director of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Research Laboratory
919.707.8239
rachel.smith@naturalsciences.org

Lindsay Zanno, PhD
Director of Paleontology and Geology
Research Laboratory
919.707.8289
lindsay.zanno@naturalsciences.org

Assistant Directors

Julie M. Urban, PhD
Assistant Director, Genomics and Microbiology Research Laboratory
919.707.9286
julie.urban@naturalsciences.org

Paul Brinkman, PhD
Assistant Director, Paleontology and Geology Research Laboratory
919.707.9282
paul.brinkman@naturalsciences.org

Lisa Herzog
Assistant Lab Manager, Paleontology and Geology Lab
919.707.9280
lisa.herzog@naturalsciences.org

Patrick Treuthardt, PhD
Assistant Director, Astronomy & Astrophysics Research Lab
919.707.9278
patrick.treuthardt@naturalsciences.org 

Naturalist Center

Cindy Lincoln, PhD
Coordinator of the Naturalist Center
919.707.9269
cynthia.lincoln@naturalsciences.org

Steven Turner, PhD
Curator of the Naturalist Center
919.707.9270
steven.turner@naturalsciences.org 

Science Communications

Brian Malow
Curator of Daily Planet
919.707.9296
brian.malow@naturalsciences.org

Window on Animal Health

Dan Dombrowski
Chief Veterinarian
919.707.9267
dan.dombrowski@naturalsciences.org