About Us

Gov. Easley Appoints Chameides and Lyerly to Natural Sciences Museum Commission

RALEIGH – Gov. Mike Easley has appointed Bill Chameides of Durham and H. Kim Lyerly of Chapel Hill to the North Carolina State Museum of Natural Sciences Advisory Commission. Chameides is dean of the Nicholas School of the Environment and Earth Sciences at Duke University. He is a member of the American Geophysical Union, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the National Academy of Sciences. Chameides was elected National Associate at the National Academies for “recognition of extraordinary service” in 2002. He received his Bachelor’s degree in physics from the State University of New York at Binghamton, and his Master’s degree in physics and his Doctorate in biogeo-chemistry from Yale University in New Haven, Conn. Lyerly is director of Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center in Durham. He is a member of the American Cancer Society Southeast Division Board of Directors, Komen Foundation Scientific Advisory Board, and the Burroughs Wellcome Foundation. Lyerly was named as one of North Carolina’s Most Outstanding Clinical Physicians in 2007, and the George Barth Geller Professor of Cancer Research in 2004. He received his Bachelor’s degree in biomedical sciences from the University of California-Riverside, his Doctorate of Medicine from the University of California-Los Angeles, and his training at Duke University. The commission formulates policies for the advancement of the State Museum of Natural Sciences and assists in promoting and developing wider and more effective use of the museum as an educational, scientific and historical exhibit. The commission has 40 members, each serving a four-year term. The governor appoints 33 members. The director of the Institute of Marine Sciences of UNC, the director of Wildlife Resources Commission, the State Geologist, the commissioner of Agriculture, the secretary of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, the director of the North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences, and the superintendent of Public Instruction, or their designees, serve on the board by virtue of their positions. Diana Kees Communications Director N.C. Dept. of Environment and Natural Resources 1601 MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-1601 (919) 715-4112; fax (919) 715-5181